Explain The Objectives Of The Elaboration Phase in Rational Unified Process

Lesson: (2 of 7) Inception and Elaboration Phases

The Rational Unified Process (RUP) development cycle has four phases. In order, they are Inception, Elaboration, Construction, and Transition. The development cycle ends with the release of a complete software product.

Learn the milestones you need to achieve within each of the four lifecycle phases: Inception, Elaboration, Construction, and Transition. Learn that the Elaboration phase provides a stable basis for the design and implementation you'll perform in the Construction phase. Learn that you need to meet four major objectives during elaboration: Learn that you should have complete descriptions of most use cases by the end of Elaboration. By that point you'll know a vast majority of the requirements. Although you may discover the need for a few more use cases during Construction, most of that work will be done. Learn that by the end of Elaboration you should have the information you need to create a detailed project plan and an estimate of the cost of development.

Learn that you can consider the Elaboration phase of the RUP complete when you've successfully reached the Lifecycle Architecture Milestone. At this point you know that the product Vision and architecture are stable, that major risk elements have been identified and resolved, and that you have the resources and plans in place for Construction to begin.

Our Inception and Elaboration Phases lesson, in our Rational Unified Process course will show you how to Explain the objectives of the Elaboration phase.

This training course provides learners with a detailed explanation of the first two phases of the RUP development process: Inception and Elaboration.

This interactive course is for anyone who is interested in learning to understand and use the Rational Unified Process.

Topics Include:

Understanding the phases, Objectives of the Inception phase, Understanding what to build, Identifying key system functionality, Determining possible solutions, Understanding costs, schedule, and risks, Choosing a process and tools, Objectives of the Elaboration phase, Understanding the requirements, Designing the architecture, Implementing the architecture, Mitigating risks, Establishing the development environment.

Rational Unified Process : Inception and Elaboration Phases includes:

The Rational Unified Process course is designed to provide learners with an introduction to the RUP software engineering process and framework. The course explains the software development principles behind the RUP and shows learners how to apply the RUP in their own organizations.

Did You KnowDid You Know?

The Progress Indicator to the right of the Course Topics indicates your progress in the course. learn more...

#1 in Online Technical Training since 2003.
Sales & Support